Bowling set

Wicked Uncle Toy’s: The New Way to Choose Children’s Gifts

*This post may contain affiliate links* You can find out more in my Privacy and Cookie Policy*

Disclaimer: I was given a product/service in return for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own and not influenced by the company in anyway.

I got the opportunity to try out a really cool children’s gifts website called Wicked Uncle their aim is to make gift buying for children as easy as possible. Founded in 2007, they are the only toy shop in the world that sells mainly to uncles, aunts, godparents and grandparents instead of to parents.  Wicked Uncle aim to make gift buying for children an easy task so if you have a 3-year-old girl and you suddenly find yourself in need of a 10-year-old boys birthday present, they are the place to go!

The Wicked Uncle website is really straightforward to use, just select gender and age and the website gives appropriate gifts to choose from. If you have some idea of what the recipient is into, you can also search by area of interest or you can search through ‘all’ gifts. There are a great range of gifts from wooden games to ride on vehicles! Once you have selected your gift(s), the idea is that they will be sent directly to the recipient, although you don’t have to, and so no invoices or receipts are sent with the gift. This is a lovely touch and well thought out.

Wicked Uncle also offer 10 different types of gift-wrap, the 1st wrap is £2.95 and then £1.50 for additional wrap which is great value and they also offer a handwritten card for £1.95 which is an amazing personal touch when you’re in a rush and need everything ready to be sent straight away. Wicked Uncle have also thought about the thank you’s and send a pre-filled thank you postcode with the gift, for the child to send back to you!

2016-01-29-12.51.24

They automatically send a birthday reminder which takes all of the stress out of buying gifts! All orders are delivered within 2-3 days for £2.95 (currently only available in the UK) and you can track the postage to see when your order will arrive.  You can even return an unwanted or unliked gift for a replacement or credit. The order process is extremely clear and easy to follow. The website uses bold, bright colours, with easy to read text, as well as interesting quirky images.  

How to find the perfect Children’s Gifts

Monster Bowling Set Toy Review

2016-02-17-17.49.38-1

Wicked Uncle were kind enough to send me a £40 voucher to use on their website and so I was able to choose a couple of items for Mia that I knew she would love. We chose the Monster Bowling Set which comprises of a bag of 6 monster bowling pins and a bowling ball.

2016-02-17-17.50.35

The bowling pins are great funky coloured monster characters, Mia loves them! We had trouble getting one of them to stand up but this was easily fixed by a bit of manipulating. A great form of entertainment and something she can play with on her own or with us which is nice. They can be stored in the handy bag they came in for future use.

My Favourite Nursery Rhymes Book Toy Review

2016-01-29-12.50.37

We also chose the My Favourite Nursery Rhymes Book which is full of well-known rhymes such as Humpty Dumpty and Baa Baa Black Sheep, which Mia recognised without me telling her, just from the pictures. The pictures are colourful, bold and funny and really add to the rhymes. We read it at bedtime most evenings.

2016-01-29-12.50.57

I love the Wicked Uncle website and I think the idea is great! If you are struggling to find the ideal gift for a specific aged girl or boy, this is the site to buy from! I would definitely use them again as I love the ease of the gift selection and the added extras such as various gift-wrap and handwritten card options are a lovely personalised touch.

(Toy Review)
(Toy Review)
(Toy Review)
(Toy Review)

Where do you go for the perfect Children’s Gifts?


16 Comments

  • five little doves

    Oh this looks like a great site for buying gifts! I really struggle to find the time to buy for the many children in our lives, anything I can do on line is a hit for me! #justanotherlinky

  • Bread

    I like idea as an aunt but I don’t like the thank you note. I think an actual note would be better. None at all would be preferable to that. #kcacols

    • mummydaddymia

      Really, that’s interesting. I haven’t heard anyone say they dislike the note, I think its handy for ease and time but I see that it could be impersonal too. Thanks for your comment 🙂

  • Madeline (This Glorious Life)

    Such a great site for anyone needing to buy a gift for a child! Love your choices, they look like they went down well with Mia! x #KCACOLS

  • OddHogg

    it seems like a great concept! Will have to remember it for nieces and nephews birthdays if I find myself struggling #KCACOLS

  • Geraldine

    The bowling pins are great! So colourful and quirky looking. Wicked uncle sounds like a great idea! Thanks for sharing #KCACOLS

    • mummydaddymia

      Its a great idea and the fact you can easily search for toys for children you may not know very well is great as you don’t have to worry about getting the wrong thing. Mia absolutely loves the bowling pins still and plays with them nearly every day! 🙂

  • Sarah - Arthurwers

    Sounds great – although I’d be interested to know if the toys are age related by health and safety or by development age/stage…I’ve often night Arthur toys that are for older children because of a particular developmental need for example. #kcacols

    • mummydaddymia

      Interesting point, I hadn’t thought about how they are categorised. I presume its to do with developmental age/stage rather than health and safety. I will bring that up with the company and see what they say 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.